Big congratulations to all six finalists of the 2016 Indianapolis Prize – the world’s leading award for animal conservation.

  • Joel Berger, Ph.D.: Wildlife Conservation Society, Colorado State University
  • Dee Boersma, Ph.D.: University of Washington, Department of Biology
  • Rodney Jackson, Ph.D.: Snow Leopard Conservancy
  • Carl Jones, Ph.D.: Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust, Mauritian Wildlife Foundation
  • Carl Safina, Ph.D.: The Safina Center at Stony Brook University
  • Amanda Vincent, Ph.D.: Project Seahorse, The University of British Columbia

“Our world is unquestionably better off because of these heroes and we hope others will not only take notice of, but also join in their noble work to save wild things and wild places.” – Michael Crowther, president CEO of the Indianapolis Zoological Society.

Special Shout Out

In keeping with Woman Scientist themes, we want to give a special shout out to the two women scientists who are in the top six finalists: Amanda Vincent  and Dee Boersma.

amanda vincent

Amanda Vincent (University of British Columbia) was the first person to study seahorses underwater and started Project Seahorse to bolster conservation of these rare fish. She has also received support from National Geographic. Be sure to look through the photos, videos, and blog posts for more fascinating information about this woman’s career and research projects.

Dr Boersma

P. Dee Boersma (University of Washington) has documented the impacts of climate change on penguins and successfully stopped oil tanker lanes through penguin colonies. She has also received support from National Geographic. Read more about her career in the UW News.

Prize Award

Twenty-eight conservationists were nominated for this year’s prize and join the ranks of recognized conservationists making strides to save species. ​ Six conservationists made it into the finals. To see the finalists from prior years since 2006 click the side tab year links.

From 2006 through 2012, winners of the Prize received an unrestricted cash award of US$100,000, which was increased to US$250,000 for 2014 and subsequent years. This is the largest international monetary prize given to an individual for the conservation of animal species – sponsored by the Eli Lilly and Company Foundation.  Beginning in 2014, five other finalists each received a US$10,000 unrestricted cash award.

The presenting of the Indianapolis Prize and the Lilly Medal will take place during the biennial Indianapolis Prize Gala hosted by Cummins Inc. where the winner and finalists will be honored for their selfless dedication, scientific expertise and lasting success.

Previous Recipients

Thank you to all the dedicated conservationists out there who spend their lives saving the Earth’s endangered animal species!

Share this:
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusby feather